coffee stimulation

I liked a lot of what Robert Penner did, but I wasn’t thrilled with his bounce curve. I wanted more bounce. And more bounces. And crazy sh*t, like controlling the shape of individual bounces (because I can get downright insane when JavaScript inspires me). So, I started with a fresh slate and implemented a parameterized bounce curve function generator, where you can control number of bounces, bounce peak curve, bounce width ratio, and bounce curve. Needless to say, I needed plenty of coffee to stimulate my math gland.

So, back to the Curve Explorer tool. As it turns out, it’s fun to play with curves – especially if you can see them plotted as you tweak parameters, or see how they affect motion with an animation, or what they look like as a color gradient. From the tool you’ll see what I mean as you peruse the list of preset curve expressions that I threw in there. My particular favorites are some of the bounce curves, like “third time’s a charm”, “super bouncy”, “fast thud”, “jumping bean”, and then some of the complex curves that use curve modifiers, like “wobbly easeInOutPow”, “pull and release elastic”, “coin settle effect”, “bounce down the stairs”, and “shutters slamming”. But they’re all fun, really.

Leave a comment